# Water Resources Department





725 Summer St NE, Suite A Salem, OR 97301 (503) 986-0900 Fax (503) 986-0904 www.Oregon.gov/OWRD

# Water Resources Commission Minutes

## Thursday, March 21, 2024

## Virtual, Salem, Oregon

## Attendees

**OWRD Staff** 

## **Commissioners**

**Eric Quaempts** Julie Smitherman Kathy Kihara Joe Moll Meg Reeves Jan Lee (Weinberg) Kim Fritz-Ogren Woody Wolfe

**Racquel Rancier** Ivan Gall Mindy Lane Grant Nasset Adair Muth Bryn Hudson Lisa Snyder Cameron Greenwood Annette Liebe

Doug Woodcock

Crystal Grinnell Kris Byrd Jake Johnstone Dwight French Kelly Meinz Tom Skiles Jake Zelenka Ryan Andrews Chris Kowitz Jason Spriet

#### Brenda Smith Anton Chiono Steve Grasty Stephanie Tidwell Dena Marshall Elissa Karim Genoa Ingram Lorissa Singhose Patrick R. **Roger Sheley** Kevin Payne Greg Mintz Kristen Shelman Ken Yates Christopher Hall Adam (unknown last) April Snell KBID – Greg Souza Konrad Fisher Greg (unknown last) Kimberley Priestley Julie Cymore Tom Tebb Cheng-Wei Herb Winters Brent (unknown last) Walt Burt April McDonald **Colleen Roberts** Mark Owens

Others

Written material submitted at this meeting is part of the official record and is on file at the Oregon Water Resources Department, 725 Summer Street NE, Suite A, Salem, Oregon 97301-1271.

Agendas, minutes, PowerPoint presentations, staff reports, and audio/video files are available on the Department's website.

# **Commission Meeting**

Chair Quaempts convened the meeting.

# A. Vice-Chair Appointment

The Commission appointed Vice-Chair of the Commission. https://youtu.be/cA7jm0xp77M?si=ttjTGNuoc-pCKcMz&t=55

Commissioner Kihara moved, Commissioner Wolfe seconded, to appoint Commissioner Smitherman as the Vice-Chair of the Commission. Votes in favor: Commissioner Wolfe, Vice-Chair Smitherman, Commissioners Moll, Lee, Kihara, and Reeves. Opposed: None. Votes not recorded: Chair Quaempts. Motion passed (unanimously?) https://youtu.be/cA7jm0xp77M?si=Ckj0vRRe\_sr6ZbKD&t=95

# **B.** Feasibility Study Grants Funding Recommendations

Kim Fritz-Ogren, Planning, Collaboration and Investments Section Manager and Adair Muth, Grant Coordinator, presented the funding recommendations for the 2023-24 funding cycle of

WRC Meeting Minutes March 21, 2024 Page 2

Feasibility Study Grants.

https://youtu.be/cA7jm0xp77M?si=Ckj0vRRe\_sr6ZbKD&t=162

Vice-Chair Smitherman moved, seconded by Commissioner Wolfe, to adopt the staff funding recommendations contained in section 6, table 2 of the report. Votes in favor: Commissioners Reeves, Lee, Kihara, Moll, Wolfe, Vice-Chair Smitherman, and Chair Quaempts. Motion passed unanimously.

https://youtu.be/cA7jm0xp77M?si=Ckj0vRRe\_sr6ZbKD&t=1129

# C. Budget And Legislative Update

Bryn Hudson, Legislative Coordinator, and Lisa Snyder, Administrative Services Division Administrator, presented a summary on the 2024 legislative session and an update on the 2025-2027 budget and legislative development process. https://youtu.be/cA7jm0xp77M?si=Ckj0vRRe\_sr6ZbKD&t=1220

Public Comment: Kimberley Priestley https://youtu.be/cA7jm0xp77M?si=Ckj0vRRe\_sr6ZbKD&t=6230

## **D.** Director's Report

Doug Woodcock, Acting Director, provided an update on Department business and late-breaking issues.

https://youtu.be/cA7jm0xp77M?si=Ckj0vRRe\_sr6ZbKD&t=6500

Public Comment: Judge Steve Grasty (retired) https://youtu.be/cA7jm0xp77M?si=Ckj0vRRe\_sr6ZbKD&t=6885

E. \*Division 205 and 240 Well Construction Welding Requirements – Proposed Rule Adoption Kelly Meinz, Water Policy Analyst, and Kris Byrd, Well Construction Manager, provided proposed rule changes for Division 205 and 240 rules. <u>https://youtu.be/cA7jm0xp77M?si=Ckj0vRRe\_sr6ZbKD&t=10741</u>

Commissioner Kihara moved, seconded by Commissioner Lee to adopt the final proposed rules as written, per item 1 of the slide. Votes in favor: Commissioners Reeves, Lee, Kihara, Moll, Wolfe, Vice-Chair Smitherman and Chair Quaempts. Motion passed unanimously. https://youtu.be/cA7jm0xp77M?si=Ckj0vRRe\_sr6ZbKD&t=11352

# F. Oregon's Integrated Water Resources Strategy (IWRS) – Draft for Public Review

Crystal Grinnell, IWRS Specialist, presented key elements of the first draft 2024 IWRS released for public review and comment in early March and detailed how this draft has incorporated prior input from the Commission.

https://youtu.be/cA7jm0xp77M?si=Ckj0vRRe\_sr6ZbKD&t=11418

Public comment: Kimberley Priestley grhttps://youtu.be/cA7jm0xp77M?si=Ckj0vRRe\_sr6ZbKD&t=16897 WRC Meeting Minutes March 21, 2024 Page 3

> Public Comment: Christopher Hall https://youtu.be/cA7jm0xp77M?si=Ckj0vRRe\_sr6ZbKD&t=17573

> Public Comment: Konrad Fisher https://youtu.be/cA7jm0xp77M?si=Ckj0vRRe\_sr6ZbKD&t=17857

# G. Update on Integrated Water Resource Planning in the Walla Walla Basin

Chris Kowitz, North Central Region Manager, provided an update on water planning efforts currently underway in the Walla Walla Basin. Tom Tebb, Director, Office of Columbia River, Washington Department of Ecology and Anton Chiono, Habitat Conservation Project Leader, Confederated Tribes of the Umatilla Indian Reservation, shared their perspectives on integrated water resource planning in the Walla Walla Basin.

https://youtu.be/cA7jm0xp77M?si=Ckj0vRRe\_sr6ZbKD&t=18396

## H. Approval of Meeting Minutes

The minutes of the November 2023 meeting were presented for Commission approval. <u>https://youtu.be/cA7jm0xp77M?si=Ckj0vRRe\_sr6ZbKD&t=20986</u>

Commissioner Moll moved, seconded by Commissioner Lee, to adopt the day 1, November 16, 2023, Commission meeting minutes. Votes in favor: Commissioners Moll, Lee (Weinberg), Wolfe, Vice-Chair Smitherman, and Chair Quaempts. Abstained: Commissioners Kihara and Reeves. Opposed: none. Motion passed.

Commissioner Moll moved, seconded by Wolfe, to adopt the day 2, November 17, 2023, Commission meeting minutes. Votes in favor: Commissioners Reeves, Moll, Lee, Vice-Chair Smitherman, Commissioner Wolfe, and Chair Quaempts. Abstained: Commissioner Kihara. Opposed: none. Motion passed.

#### I. Commissioner Comments

Commissioners reported on their recent activities, shared information, and commented on a variety of water resource topics. https://youtu.be/cA7jm0xp77M?si=Ckj0vRRe\_sr6ZbKD&t=21191

## J. Public Comment and Other Issues https://youtu.be/cA7jm0xp77M?si=Ckj0vRRe\_sr6ZbKD&t=22023

April Snell https://youtu.be/cA7jm0xp77M?si=Ckj0vRRe\_sr6ZbKD&t=22073

Brenda Smith https://youtu.be/cA7jm0xp77M?si=Ckj0vRRe\_sr6ZbKD&t=22417

Rep. Mark Owens

https://youtu.be/cA7jm0xp77M?si=Ckj0vRRe\_sr6ZbKD&t=22904

WRC Meeting Minutes March 21, 2024 Page 4

> Lorissa Singhose https://youtu.be/cA7jm0xp77M?si=Ckj0vRRe\_sr6ZbKD&t=23740

Public Comment: County Commissioner Kristen Shelman https://youtu.be/cA7jm0xp77M?si=Zi5rNQpQWTCjJwU-&t=24141

Public Comment: Roger Sheley https://youtu.be/cA7jm0xp77M?si=L4GcK\_VzAhnsxm\_R&t=24407

Meeting was adjourned. https://youtu.be/ca7jm0xp77m?si=5ekkgx2g\_ddpa8-8&t=25010

Submitted by Mindy Lane, Executive Support, Director's Office.