Water Resources Department





725 Summer St NE, Suite A Salem, OR 97301 (503) 986-0900 Fax (503) 986-0904 www.Oregon.gov/OWRD

Water Resources Commission Minutes

Thursday, June 13, 2024

Hybrid meeting in Bend, Oregon

(V) = Virtual

Attendees				
Commissioners	OWRD Staff	Other Attendees		
Eric Quaempts	Doug Woodcock	Jacob Kimiecik (V)	Roy Beyer (V)	
Julie Smitherman	Racquel Rancier	Janna Stevens (V)	Ronald Cochran	
Kathy Kihara	Annette Liebe	Megan Saunders (V)	Becky Powell	
Jan Lee	Kim Fritz-Ogren (V)	Tyler Nielsen (V)	Bret Heuslet	
Joe Moll	Lisa Snyder (V)	Heidi Hartman, (V)	Gene Souza (V)	
Meg Reeves	Alyssa Mucken (V)	Clancy Flynn (V)	John Short	
Woody Wolfe	Jake Zelenka (V)	Chris Gannon (V)	Mike Britton	
	Cameron Greenwood (V)	Caylin Barter (V)	Jeff Shaw	
	Mindy Lane	Chris Hall (V)	Phil Chang	
	Grant Nasset	Keith Witcosky (V)	Mary Powell	
	Adair Muth (V)	Mateusz Perkowski (V)	Jeremy Austin	
	Laura Hartt (V)	Ginnee McKee (V)	Lisa Seales	
	Caroyln Sufit	John McKeen (V)	April Snell	
	Jeremy Giffin	Marilyn Koenitzer	Steve Johnson	
	Joe Kemper	Julie Cartwright	Sarah Kelly	
	Emelie McKain	Tom Halferty	Lori Faha	
	Dwight French	Anne (screen name) (V)	Tod Heisk	
		Kimberley Priestley	Bobby Brunoe	
		Natasha Bellis	Alison Toviola	
		Glenn Barrett	Josh Newton	
		Midge (screen name) (V)	Brenda Smith	
		Smithma (screen name) (V)	Mark Owens	

Written material submitted at this meeting is part of the official record and is on file at the Oregon Water Resources Department, 725 Summer Street NE, Suite A, Salem, Oregon 97301-1271.

Agendas, minutes, PowerPoint presentations, staff reports, and audio/video files are available on the Department's <u>website</u>.

Commission Meeting

Chair Quaempts convened the meeting.

A. Irrigation Modernization Funding

Adair Muth, Grant Coordinator, and Kim Fritz-Ogren, Planning, Collaboration, and Investments Section Manager, presented the Technical Review Team's scoring results, evaluation summaries and funding recommendations, public comments received, and the funding recommendations.

Public Comment, April Snell

Public Comment, Gene Souza

Public Comment, Natasha Bellis

Public Comment, Kate Fitzpatrick

Public Comment, Bruce Scanlon

Public Comment, Roy Beyer

Public Comment, Bruce Scanlon

Public Comment, Steve Forester

Public Comment, Chris Gannon

Public Comment, Bruce Scanlon

Public Comment, Kate Fitzpatrick

Public Comment, Steve Forester

Public comment, Bruce Scanlon

Julie Smitherman moved to fund projects 1-9, with project 10 as provisional*; and to fund \$4 million for the McKay Project out of WPGL with \$3.5 million to be provisional on the Irrigation Modernization funds next year. The motion was seconded by Commissioner Wolfe. Votes in favor: Commissioners Wolfe and Kihara, Vice-Chair Smitherman, Commissioners Reeves, Lee & Moll, and Chair Quaempts. Motion passed unanimously.

*Note: As discussed during the Commission agenda item, a provisional award is an award that is contingent on the sale of Lottery Revenue Bonds, which provide the dollars for the grants. In this case, the legislatively authorized Lottery Revenue Bonds are scheduled to be sold and made available in spring 2025. Provisionally awarded grants receive a grant award letter after the Commission meeting but do not receive a grant agreement to sign until after the bond sale. https://youtu.be/-H6ONYnwB8k?si=5iexnaqyAmmOTdFE&t=9692

C. Deschutes Basin Workplan Update

This item was removed from the agenda to get back on schedule.

E. Deschutes Basin Water Collaborative: Comprehensive Water Plan Development

Deschutes Basin Water Collaborative representatives discussed the ongoing efforts to develop a comprehensive water management plan for the Deschutes Basin utilizing the Place-Based Planning Guidelines.

F. Confederated Tribes of the Warm Springs Presentation

Bobby Brunoe, CEO/Treasurer, and potentially other representatives, presented on issues of interest to the Confederated Tribes of the Warm Springs.

D. Director's Report

Doug Woodcock, Acting Director, announced that Ivan Gall has been appointed as the new director as of July 1.

B. Budget & Legislative Update

Racquel Rancier, Deputy Director, provided a brief update on the 2025-2027 budget and legislative development process.

The meeting was adjourned for the day and the Commission went on the scheduled tour.

Water Resources Commission Minutes

Friday, June 14, 2024

Hybrid & Bend, Oregon

(V) = Virtual

Attendees				
Commissioners	OWRD Staff	Oth	Others	
Eric Quaempts	Doug Woodcock	Tom Halferty	Karen Lewotsky (V)	
Julie Smitherman	Racquel Rancier	Mike Buettner	Mary (Becky) Powell	
Kathy Kihara	Annette Liebe	Jim Powell	Glenn Barrett	
Jan Lee	Tim Seymour (V)	Gen Hubert (V)	Chris Hall (V)	
Joe Moll	Carolyn Sufit (V)	Kate Fitzpatrick	Ed Fitch	
Meg Reeves	Jason Spriet (V)	Melanie Kebler	Yancy Lind (V)	
Woody Wolfe	Kim Fritz-Ogren (V)	Ronald Cochran	Phil Chang (V)	
	Mindy Lane	Kimberley Priestley	Lisa Brown (V)	
	Grant Nasset	Mike Britton	Tyler Nielsen (V)	
	Adair Muth (V)	Jeff Shaw	Fiona Noonan (V)	
	Kelly Meinz (V)	Zach Freed	Hayley Siltanen (V)	
	Laura Hartt (V)	Natlie Whitesel	Trevor Grandy (V)	
	Justin Iverson (V)	Marilyn Koenitzer	Keith Witcosky (V)	
	Emelie McKain	Heidi Hartman (V)	Kyle Smith (V)	
		Cat Zwicker (V)	Chandra Ferrari	
		April Snell (V)	Mark Owens	
		Geoff Huntington	Brenda Smith	
		Greg (screen name) (V)		

Chair Quaempts convened the meeting.

H. Governor's Office Natural Resource Policy Advisor Presentation

Geoff Huntington, Senior Natural Resources Policy Advisor, and Chandra Ferrari, Natural Resources Policy Advisor, presented to the Commission.

Public Comment, Marilyn Koenitzer

Public Comment, Kimberley Priestley

Public Comment, Chris Hall

I. Harney Basin Update

Jason Spriet, East Region Manager, Tim Seymour, Assistant Groundwater Section Manager, Alexandria Scott, Eastern Region Engagement Coordinator, and Kelly Meinz, Water Policy Analyst, provided an update on Department activities occurring in the Harney Basin.

Public Comment, Lisa Brown

Public Comment, Brenda Smith

Public Comment, Mark Owens

Public Comment, Zach Freed

J. Critical Groundwater Area 3-Year Review

Justin Iverson, Groundwater Section Manager, reviewed conditions in the state's seven existing Critical Groundwater Areas as per the review requirements of ORS 537.780(3).

K. Groundwater Allocation Rulemaking Update

Annette Liebe, Technical Services Division Administrator, Justin Iverson, Groundwater Section Manager, and Laura Hartt, Water Policy Analyst, presented an update on the Groundwater Allocation Rulemaking.

Public Comment, Melanie Kebler

Public Comment, Ed Fitch

Public Comment, Zach Freed

Public Comment, Lisa Brown

Public Comment, Kyle Smith

Public Comment, Malia Kupillas

Public Comment, Greg Kupillas

Public Comment, Becky Powell

Public Comment, Glenn Barrett

Public Comment, Karen Lewotsky

L. Approval of Meeting Minutes

The minutes of the March 2024 meeting were presented for Commission approval.

Commissioner Moll moved, seconded by Commissioner Kihara, to adopt the March 2024, Commission meeting minutes. Votes in favor: Commissioners Wolfe, Kihara, Vice-Chair Smitherman, Commissioners Reeves, Moll and Lee, and Chair Quaempts. Motion passed unanimously.

https://www.youtube.com/live/3sbgip5492i?si=7ckkuebemj0pjaaa&t=12933

M. Commissioner Comments

Commissioners reported on their recent activities, shared information, and commented on a variety of water resource topics. Commissioners also discussed meeting structure, length and frequency.

N. <u>Public Comment and Other Issues</u> There were no additional public comments or other issues.

Meeting was adjourned.

Submitted by Mindy Lane, Executive Support, Director's Office.