





North Mall Office Building 725 Summer Street NE, Suite A Salem, OR 97301-1266 503-986-0900 FAX 503-986-0904

PUBLIC MEETING NOTICE GROUND WATER ADVISORY COMMITTEE Friday, January 29, 2010 9:00 a.m. to 1:00 p.m.

WATER RESOURCES DEPARTMENT

Conference Room 124B (First Floor) North Mall Office Building 725 Summer St. NE, Ste A Salem, Oregon

AGENDA (Order subject to change - approximate times for item)

A Call to Order (9:00 – 9:05)

Chair Tim Smith will open the meeting and introduce new member Bill Blair.

B Approval of Minutes (9:05 – 9:10)

The draft minutes from October 9, 2009 will be presented for approval.

C Administrative Issues (9:10 -9:15)

D Budget Update (9:15 – 09:40)

Tracy Louden, Administrator for Administrative Services will present up update on the current budget along with status reports for geotechnical hole and exempt use fee accounts.

E 2009 Well Drilling Activity (9:40 – 10:00)

Kris Byrd, Well Construction Specialist, and Jerry Rodgers, Administrator for Technical Services will present preliminary well construction numbers for 2009.

F Discussion with Water Resource Commission Chair (10:00 – 10:30)

Chair John Jackson will meet with the Committee to discuss expectations and review Commission activities.

Break (10:30 - 10:45)

G Exempt Use Well Mapping Demo (10:45 -11:10)

Dorothy Mortenson, GIS Developer, and Bob Harmon, GIS Coordinator, will present a demonstration of the electronic mapping program nearing completion to locate exempt use wells. The online tool will provide landowners an additional option to submit well location maps required by Senate Bill 788.

H Deschutes Mitigation Program (11:10 – 11:40)

Kyle Gorman, South Central Region Manager, will provide a briefing on the mitigation program for new groundwater appropriations within the Deschutes Basin.

Lunch Distribution to Members (Approx. 11:40)

GWAC Agenda January 29, 2010 Page 2

I Deschutes Basin Proposed Division 522 Rules (11:45 – 12:10) Kyle Gorman, South Central Region Manager, will ask for input regarding proposed Division 522 rules that are currently open for comment. The proposed rules were drafted based on recommendations of a work group convened by the Department pursuant to House Bill 3494.

J Well Owners Handbook (12:10 – 12:20)

Doug Woodcock, Groundwater Section Manager, will distribute a draft replacement booklet for the publication "A Consumer's Guide to Water Well Construction, Maintenance, and Abandonment". The Committee will be asked to review and provide feedback on the new publication.

K Items not on the Agenda (12:20 – 12:30)

L Public Comment (12:30 – 12:45)

M Election of Officers (12:45 – 1:00)

OAR 690-235-005(4) limits officer terms to two years. Tim Smith and Greg Kupillas were elected on January 11, 2008. The Committee will be asked to select new officers.

- Generally agenda items will be taken in the order scheduled. However in certain circumstances, the Committee may elect to take an item out of order. Topics not listed on the agenda may be introduced during the meeting.
- Individuals from the public have two ways to comment during the meeting. On agenda items, they should submit a request to comment sheet to the committee chair for comment during the agenda item. On non-agenda items, they may respond to the chair's invitation at the scheduled public comment time.
- If you have questions about this agenda, contact Arla Heare at 503.986.0829.

The meeting is open to the public and all interested parties at that location; if special physical, language or other accommodations are needed for this meeting, please advise Arla Heare at 503.986.0829 as soon as possible but at least 48 hours in advance of the meeting.

Groundwater Advisory Committee

(City of Residence, Category Represented, Year Appointment Expires on November 30)

Tim Smith, Chair	Burns	Groundwater User	2010
Gregory Kupillas, Vice-Chair	Mulino	Hydrogeologist	2011
Bill Blair	Dallas	Monitoring/Water Well Industry	2012
Terry Daugherty	Adrian	Monitoring/Water Well Industry	2010
Kevin Gill	Bandon	Monitoring/Water Well Industry	2011
Bob Jones	Medford	Multiple Backgrounds	2012
Lynne Paretchan	Portland	Multiple Backgrounds	2012
Merilyn Reeves	Amity	Environmental	2010
Rob Turkisher	Corvallis	Local Government	2011