



Water Resources Department

725 Summer St NE, Suite A Salem, OR 97301 (503) 986-0900 Fax (503) 986-0904 www.Oregon.gov/OWRD

Water Resources Commission Minutes

Thursday, March 13, 2025

Hybrid meeting in Salem, Oregon

Attendees (V) = Virtual								
Commissioners		Other Attendees						
Eric Quaempts	Ivan Gall	Jason Spriet	Laura Hartt (V)	Kimberley Priestley				
Julie Smitherman (V)	Cassidy Fredlund	Tim Seymour	Joe Kemper (V)	Elijah Welch (V)				
Kathy Kihara	Mindy Lane	Adair Muth	Elyse Richman	Steve Parrett (V)				
Jan Lee	Lisa Snyder	Lili Prahl	Ben Scandella (V)	Peggy Lynch (V)				
Joe Moll (V)	Kelly Meinz (V)	Laura Tesler	Michael Coiner (V)	Shane Cossel (V)				
Jan Neuman	Danielle Gonzalez	Garrett Vian	Louisa Mariki (V)	Ryan Krabill (V)				
Woody Wolfe	Charlotte Regula-	Lisa Derfler-	Katy Gunville (V)	April Snell (V)				
	Whitfield	Miner (V)						
	Kim Fritz-Ogren	Ken Turner	Chris Kowitz (V)	Steve Ahlquist (V)				
	Crystal Grinnell	Nick Reece (V)	Alyssa Rash (V)	Kyle Gorman (V)				
	Doug Woodcock	Greg Wacker (V)	Jake Zelenka (V)	Chris Hall (V)				
	Darrick	Stacey Garrison	Martin Sanchez	Lisa Brown (V)				
	Boschmann (V)	(V)	(V)					
	Margo	Lucinda	Alyssa Mucken (V)	GSI Water Solutions				
	Mashkovskaya (V)	Vranizan (V)		(V)				
	Justin Iverson (V)	Rich Marvin (V)	Bryn Hudson (V)	David Frost (V)				
	Alexandria Scott	Sue Parrish (V)	Jeana Eastman	Brent Stevenson (V)				
	(V)		(V)					
	Katie Ratcliffe (V)	Annette Liebe		Kyle Perrin (V)				
	Grayson Fish (V)			Nic Westendorf (V)				
				Ken Yates (V)				
				Dave Jones (V)				
				Angee H (V)				
				Anna Smith (V)				
				Bobby Green (V)				

Written material submitted at this meeting is part of the official record and is on file at the Oregon Water Resources Department, 725 Summer Street NE, Suite A, Salem, Oregon 97301-1271.

Agendas, minutes, PowerPoint presentations, staff reports, and audio/video files are available on the Department's <u>website</u>.

Commission Meeting

Chair Quaempts convened the meeting.

WRC Meeting Minutes March 13 - 14, 2025 Page 2

A. Division 512 Rulemaking Update

Jason Spriet, East Region Manager, Tim Seymour, Assistant Groundwater Section Manager, and Kelly Meinz, Water Policy Analyst, provided an update on model iteration results, discussed the plan for adaptive management in the Harney Basin, and presented their proposed management plan.

B. Integrated Water Resources Strategy Update

Crystal Grinnell, Integrated Water Resources Strategy Specialist, provided an update on the content and timeline for Draft 2 of the IWRS.

C. Strategic Plan Update

Laura Tesler, Policy Advisor and Danielle Gonzalez, Policy Section Manager, presented an update on the development of the OWRD 2025-2030 Strategic Plan.

D. <u>Request for an Exception to the Sandy Basin Program by City of Tualatin under</u> ORS 536.295

Martin Sanchez, Hydroelectric Project Analyst for OWRD, presented the application from the City of Tualatin for a minor hydroelectric project. The Commission was asked to consider an exception to the Sandy Basin Program to allow power generation.

<u>Vice-Chair Smitherman moved to approve alternative 1, that the Commission</u> <u>approves the request by the applicant for an exception to the Sandy Basin</u> <u>Program as the use is largely non-consumptive in nature.</u> Commissioner Wolfe seconded the motion. Votes in favor: Commissioners Neuman, Lee, Wolfe, Kihara, Moll, Vice Chair Smitherman, and Chair Quaempts. Motion passed unanimously.

E. <u>*Proposed Rulemaking for Division 601: Best Practices in Community Engagement</u> for Water Projects

Charlotte R. Whitefield, Community Engagement Coordinator, Danielle Gonzalez, Policy Section Manager, and Adair Muth, Grant Manager, presented on the proposed Division 601 rulemaking. The proposed rules identify community engagement best practices when the department funds community engagement plans for water projects funded through Feasibility Study Grants and Water Projects Grants and Loans. The Commission was asked to consider adoption of the new rules.

<u>Commission Kihara moved to adopt the final proposed rules as modified by the</u> <u>Department following public comment shown in attachment 8 of the staff report.</u> Commissioner Neuman seconded the motion. Votes in favor: Commission Moll, WRC Meeting Minutes March 13 - 14, 2025 Page 3

Vice-Chair Smitherman, Commissioners Neuman, Lee, Wolfe, Kihara, and Chair Quaempts. Motion passed unanimously.

Post-vote comment by Commissioner Moll.

F. *Proposed Rulemaking for Division 602: Place-Based Water Planning

Lili Prahl, Planning Coordinator, Danielle Gonzalez, Policy Section Manager, and Adair Muth, Grant Manager, presented on the proposed Division 602 rulemaking related to Place-Based Water Planning (ORS 537.872 and 537.873). The Commission was asked to consider adoption of the rules.

The Commission engaged in conversation and asked a number of questions.

<u>Commissioner Moll made a motion to move forward except to remove paragraph</u> <u>2 from section 690-602-500. The motion died for lack of second.</u>

<u>Commissioner Moll moved to adopt the final rules as modified by the department</u> <u>following public comment in attachment 7 of the staff report.</u> Commissioner Moll withdrew his motion after Commissioner Neuman made a new motion.

<u>Commissioner Neuman moved to adopt alternative one, attachment 7, except to</u> replace the word "may" with "will" in the second sentence of 690-602-0500(2).

<u>Commissioner Kihara seconded the motion.</u> Votes in favor: Vice-Chair Smitherman, Commissioners Neuman and Kihara, and Chair Quaempts. Votes in opposition: Commissioners Moll, Lee and Wolfe. Motion passed.

Post-vote comment by Commissioner Moll.

H. Director's Report

Ivan Gall, Director, provided an update on Department business and late-breaking issues.

I. <u>Approval of Meeting Minutes</u>

The minutes of the December 2024 meeting were presented for Commission approval.

<u>Commissioner Wolfe moved to approve the meeting minutes from December 12</u> and 13, 2024, except to correct the attendance record on both days by removing <u>Commissioner Reeves and adding Commissioner Neuman to the attendance</u> <u>record.</u> Commissioner Kihara seconded the motion. Votes in favor: Commissioner WRC Meeting Minutes March 13 - 14, 2025 Page 4

Moll, Vice-Chair Smitherman, Commissioners Neuman, Lee, Wolfe and Kihara, and Chair Quaempts. Motion passed unanimously.

Day 1 was adjourned.

Water Resources Commission Minutes

Friday, March 14, 2025

Hybrid meeting in Salem, Oregon

Attendees V=Virtual							
Commissioners	OWRD Staff		Others				
Eric Quaempts	Ivan Gall	Katie Ratcliffe (V)	Ken Yates (V)				
Julie Smitherman (V)	Cassidy Fredlund	Kim Fritz-Ogren					
Kathy Kihara	Mindy Lane	Garrett Vian					
Jan Lee	Danielle Gonzalez	Doug Woodcock					
Joe Moll (V)	Bryn Hudson	Lisa Snyder					
Jan Neuman	Annette Liebe						
Woody Wolfe	Racquel Rancier (V)						

Chair Quaempts convened the meeting.

G. Budget & Legislative Update

Bryn Hudson, Legislative Coordinator, and Lisa Snyder, Administrative Services Division Administrator, provided an update on the 2025 Legislative Session.

J. Commissioner Comments

Commissioners reported on their recent activities, shared information, and commented on a variety of water resource topics.

K. Public Comment and Other Issues

There were no additional public comments or other issues.

Meeting was adjourned.

Submitted by Mindy Lane, Executive Support, Director's Office.