



Water Supply Availability Committee and Drought Readiness Council

Telephone Conference

Agenda

Thursday, August 13, 2020 9:00 to 12:00

- I. Welcome and Introductions

 Committee Chair/s
 Ken Stahr/Traci Naile

 Committee and
 Introductions
- II. Agenda review, meeting explanation and goals. Suggestions or additions. Any news or announcements?
- **III. Review/approve May WSAC/DRC meeting notes.** Approval of July notes:
- IV. Update on Monthly Conditions and Water Year Summary (1.5 hour) Scott Oviatt – Mountain Precipitation, Soil Moisture Andy Bryant – Precipitation, Temperature Amy Burke – Streamflow forecast Larry O'Neal – Climate updates Marc Stewart and Ken Stahr – Streamflow conditions Chris Runyan, Jonathan Rocha or Peter Cooper – USBR Reservoirs Mary Karen Scullion or Yamen Hoque – USACE Reservoirs Nick Yonker – Wildfire updates
- V. Outlook and DRC Discussion (1.5 hour) New declarations – Unknown at this time. Are there any other emerging or lingering water supply issues? County Emergency Managers – input or observations

Drought Readiness Council

Any observations or feedback Discussion on proposed changes to bi-weekly water supply report – Ryan Andrews (OWRD) Suggested topics for upcoming DRC meetings.

OWRD – Evapotranspiration and OpenET project with Desert Research Institute. Other suggestions?

Continue follow-up on US Drought Monitor coordination. How are we doing? Does the USDM reflect the data and current conditions?

VI. Announcements & Next Meeting

- Next WSAC/DRC meeting to be determined (propose September 9 or 10, 2020 9:00 to 12:00)

Meeting Objectives:

- Report on current conditions, seasonal outlook, if practical
- Conditions review for drought declaration requests
- Discussion on indicators for future report outs
- Draft suggestions for conditions report and recommended maps
- Report to Drought Readiness Council

Water Supply Availability Committee Chair:

Ken Stahr 725 Summer St. NE, Suite A Salem, OR 97301 Tel: 503-986-0838, 503-302-4013 kenneth.l.stahr@oregon.gov

Water Supply Availability Committee Members and Back-ups:

NOAA – Andy Bryant, Kevin Berghoff, Steve King, and Amy Burke NRCS – Scott Oviatt OCCRI – Larry O'Neill ODA – Margaret Matter ODF – Nick Yonker OEM –Erik Rau, Traci Naile OWRD – Ken Stahr and Ryan Andrews USACE – Mary Karen Scullion and Yamen Hoque USBR – Peter Cooper, Chris Runyon, and Jonathan Rocha USGS – Marc Stewart, Keith Overton, and Carrie Boudreau